A History of the Paramount Theatre-Rutland, Vermont 1914-2004
“A History of the Paramount Theatre-1914-2004” is presented by Paul J. Crossman, Jr. who has written a number of Quarterlies for the Society, and brings his personal experience as an usher at the Paramount to this article.
The Paramount began its life as The Playhouse in 1924, adding “Movies” in 1931 renamed the Paramount until its closing in 1975. In 1988 Paramount Center assumed ownership, purchased the building next door, restored it in its entirety to reopen in 2000 after being empty and neglected for nearly ten years.
The theater is now a fully functioning part of the community offering a variety of performances on a regular basis.
The article provides a complete listing of the new theater's specifications; the various funds and their donors that made the renovation and reopening possible; a complete seating chart; and a Bibliography for further research.